In general, travellers who wish to enter Australia are required to obtain a visa from Australian Embassies, High Commissions or Consulates before travelling to Australia.

To apply for a visa, a foreigner must possess a passport or travel document which will remain valid during the period of stay. In addition, travellers must obtain a visa in advance to enter Australia.

Applicants will be issued with a type of visa in accordance to his or her purpose of visit. For more information on the types of visas and general requirements for each, please visit the website of Department of Home Affairs of Australia.

However, there are visa exemptions for some countries and regions:

  1. Most New Zealand citizens are granted an electronic Special Category Visa (SCV) on arrival in Australia, subject to meeting health and character requirements. New Zealand citizens who hold a travel document other than a New Zealand passport are not eligible to be granted a Special Category Visa on arrival, and therefore should apply for a visa prior to travelling to Australia.

    For more information, please see Travel documents required for New Zealand citizens.
  2. Electronic Travel Authority (ETA) – As of May 2019, there are 8 countries and regions that are exempted from visa requirements when entering Australia for tourism, commerce, conferences, visiting relatives/ acquaintances, etc. Nationals from these countries and regions will be permitted a 12-months access to Australia from the date the ETA is granted or until the expiry of passport, whichever is earlier.

    For more information, please see Electronic Travel Authority (ETA).

For full information on visa requirements, please visit the website of Department of Home Affairs of Australia or you may contact the Consular Section of Consular Section of the Embassy.

Web Source: Department of Home Affairs of Australia